HomeSportsCricketBCCI announces Indian squad for U-19 World Cup 2020
-- Advertisement --

BCCI announces Indian squad for U-19 World Cup 2020

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

BCCI announced the squad for the Under-19 World Cup with Uttar Pradesh’s Priyam Garg handed the captain’s armband. The tournament will be played from January 17 to February 9 in South Africa.

The announcement was made on Monday, a day after the Aashish Kapoor-led national junior selection committee met Rahul Dravid the head of cricket at the National Cricket Academy, as a special invitee at the BCCI headquarters.

-- Advertisement --

India are the defending champions. The team, led by Prithvi Shaw with Dravid as the coach, lifted the trophy last year with an 8-wicket win over Australia in the finals.

Garg will be accompanied by UP’s Dhruv Chand Jurel as his deputy. Kartik Tyagi will be the third player from the state in the squad of 15.

-- Advertisement --

Mumbai will have three players from its side make it to the squad as well. The trio is headlined by Yashasvi Jaiswal, who recently became the youngest player to hit a double-century in senior List A cricket at the Vijay Hazare Trophy against Jharkhand.

Just 17-years-old, Jaiswal has featured in only 9 List A matches apart from a First-class game. However, in just these 10 matches, the youngster has managed to score 564 runs at a stunning average of 112.80 including three centuries and a fifty, enough to convince the selectors about his potential.

The youngster’s achievement is even more impressive when we consider his humble background. From spending nights in tents to selling snacks for a living to making it on the plane to South Africa, Yashasvi has really seen everything.

He is joined by left-arm spinner Atharva Ankolekar who starred in India’s triumph at the U-19 Asia Cup. Batsman Divyaansh Saxena, a Dilip Vengsarkar Foundation product, completes the treble. Apart from UP and Mumbai, players from six other associations have made it to the squad.

-- Advertisement --

India U19 squad for World Cup

Priyam Garg (Captain), Dhruv Chand Jurel (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Divyaansh Saxena, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra (wicket-keeper), Tilak Varma, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Sushant Mishra, Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Vidyadhar Patil

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
KreedOn Network
KreedOn Network
We are a team of sports writers who research about sports in India day in day out. Please reach out to us in case of any specific requirement of digital services on [email protected] .


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here