HomeNewsAsian Airgun Championship: Elavenil And Divyansh Wins Gold
-- Advertisement --

Asian Airgun Championship: Elavenil And Divyansh Wins Gold

- Advertisement -


-- Advertisement --

The Indian contingent’s absolute dominance at the 12th Asian Airgun Championships 2019 continued for the fifth day running. Shooters Divyansh Singh Panwar and Elavenil Valarivan both bagged gold medals to complete a clean sweep in the 10m air rifle events.

The Indian pair combined with their respective team-mates to win two team gold medals as well. Divyansh shot 249.7 to finish at the top, while Kim shot 247.4 to gain the silver medal.

-- Advertisement --

Shin won the bronze, scoring 225.5. Two other Indians Ravi Kumar (626.3) and Deepak Kumar (626.2) also made it to the eight-man final in the men’s category.

Elavenil, Apurvi & Meghana claimed top spot

In the women’s final, Elavenil led straight from the start with a score of 250.5 to emerge victoriously. Chinese Taipei’s Lin Ying-Shin won silver with 250.2 while Park Sunmin of Korea bagged bronze with a score of 229.1.

-- Advertisement --

The Indian women’s team of Elavenil, Apurvi and Meghana claimed the top spot with a combined total of 1878.6 while hosts Chinese Taipei were second with 1872.5.

The Indian shooters have now secured 12 of the 14 gold medals handed out so far and their overall tally now stands at 12 gold, four silver and two bronze medals.

Also Read: Indian shooters who proved to be world-class

Medal in the men’s team event too

-- Advertisement --

Indian shooters won the team gold in the men’s 10m air rifle with a combined score of 1880.7 to leave behind Korea with 1862.3 in second place. The Indian women’s team also won gold with a combined total of 1878.6. with hosts, Taipei came in second with 1872.5.

The competition concludes on Monday with the junior events in the 10m air rifle.

The results

10m air rifle

Men: 1. Divyansh Singh Panwar 249.7 (628.2); 2. Kim Dajin (Kor) 247.4 (624.1); 3. Shin Minki (Kor) 225.5 (620.0); 4. Ravi Kumar 204.8 (626.3); 6. Deepak Kumar 164.1 (626.2).

Team: 1. India (1880.7); 2. Korea (1862.3); 3. Chinese Taipei (1856.1).

Women: 1. Elavenil Valarivan 250.5 (630.0); 2. Lin Ying-Shin (Tpe) 250.2 (624.3); 3. Park Sunmin (Kor) 229.1 (627.88); 4. Apurvi Chandela 207.8 (625.4); 7. Meghana Sajjanar 143.3 (623.2); Team: 1. India (1878.6); 2. Chinese Taipei (1872.5); 3. Korea (1870.7).

For the latest update on Indian sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Bhawna Kothari
Bhawna Kothari
Lover of cultures, varied colors, and underdogs, Bhawna is a by-heart and professional playwright. Hailing from a journalism & communication background, she incorporates a careful study at both flips of the coin which is essentially required to be analytical in thoughts and words. Actively abreast of the current affairs around the globe, she likes knowing and bringing into light the unexplored. Problem solving via the power of content is what inspires her and hence KreedOn, a platform created for the betterment of sports ecosystem in India, is now her happy workplace!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here