HomeSportsCricketAsia Cup 2023: ACC Approves Hybrid Model, Pakistan & Sri Lanka to...
-- Advertisement --

Asia Cup 2023: ACC Approves Hybrid Model, Pakistan & Sri Lanka to Co-Host

- Advertisement -

The Asian Cricket Council (ACC) has officially announced the dates and venues of highly anticipated Asia Cup 2023. The prestigious tournament is scheduled to be held from 31st August to 17th September 2023. The ACC has approved the Hybrid model proposed by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for the Asia Cup 2023. The 2023 edition of the Asia Cup will be jointly hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka, with Pakistan hosting four matches and the remaining nine matches taking place in Sri Lanka.

-- Advertisement --

In a recent media release by the ACC, the final dates of the tournament were confirmed.

-- Advertisement --

Pakistan will have the privilege of hosting four matches on their home soil. This decision came after the Indian government denied permission for the Indian team to travel across the border, fulfilling the wishes of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will serve as the host for nine matches during the tournament. The format will remain the same as the previous edition, featuring a group stage followed by the Super 4 stage.

The ACC media release read,

-- Advertisement --

“We are delighted to announce that the Asia Cup 2023 will be held from 31st August to 17th September 2023 and will see the elite teams from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Nepal, compete in a total of 13 exciting ODI matches. The tournament will be hosted in a hybrid model with four matches being held in Pakistan, and the remaining nine matches being played in Sri Lanka.”

The top two teams from the Super 4 will then battle it out in the grand finale. Unlike the previous edition, the Asia Cup 2023 will be played in the One-Day International (ODI) format. This adjustment aims to provide teams with valuable preparation ahead of the ODI Cup 2023, scheduled to be hosted in India in October-November.

The release further read,

“The 2023 Edition will feature two groups, with two teams from each group qualifying for the Super Four stage. The top two teams from the Super Four stage will then face off in the final.”

Top 10 wicket keeping gloves-Know finest gloves for cricket game- Buyer’s Guide- KreedOn Read More | Top 10 Best Wicket Keeping Gloves

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here