HomeNewsKreedOn BanterArgentina gets record $42 million for winning FIFA World Cup 2022 |...

Argentina gets record $42 million for winning FIFA World Cup 2022 | Check out prize money for the past 11 WC winners

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

Argentina handed a defeat to the two-time champions France via penalties to clinch the FIFA World Cup title on Sunday and won the prize money of $42 million (Rs 344 crore), while the runner-up team France received $30 million (Rs 245 crore). Argentina clinched its third FIFA World Cup title after a gap of 36 years following a dramatic match. Captain Lionel Messi won his maiden World Cup title to put an end to his long-cherished dream. 

The FIFA World Cup 2022 hosted in Qatar had a total prize pool of $440 million (Rs 3,600 crore). 2018 FIFA World Cup runners-up Croatia, finished third after handing a defeat to Morocco in 2022. Croatia will get $27 million (Rs 220 crore), while Morocco will receive $25 million (Rs 204 crore) for reaching the semi-final.

Meanwhile, Brazil’s legendary player Pelé congratulated Lionel Messi and Argentina for winning the World Cup and Kylian Mbappé for his goals in the 2022 FIFA World Cup final. Pelé won a record for winning three World Cups as a player.

-- Advertisement --

Pelé wrote in his post,

“Today, football continues to tell its story, as always, in an enthralling way. Messi winning his first World Cup, as his trajectory deserved. My dear friend, Mbappé, scoring four goals in a final. What a gift it was to watch this spectacle to the future of our sport.”

FIFA Prize money in the past 

Moreover, looking back to the 2018 FIFA world cup, the champion team France received $38 million in prize money. This marks the 2022 championship awarded the greatest sum in the history of FIFA World Cups. The prize money for the winning team increased from $8 million in 2002 to $42 million in 2022, which is more than five times.

  • 1982 World Cup champion: Italy – $2.2 million
  • 1986: Argentina – $2.8 million
  • 1990: West Germany – $3.5 million
  • 1994: Brazil – $4 million
  • 1998: France – $6 million
  • 2002: Brazil – $8 million
  • 2006: Italy – $20 million
  • 2010: Spain – $30 million
  • 2014: Germany – $35 million
  • 2018: France – $ 38 million
  • 2022: Argentina – $42 million

-- Advertisement --

Best Footballs - KreedOnRead More | Top 10 Best Football Balls to Buy Online

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more latest updates and stories on Indian sports (and athletes), subscribe to KreedOn network today – KreedOn: The Voice of #Indiansport

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --