HomeSportsFootballAFC Asian Cup 2019 : Everything You Need To Know

AFC Asian Cup 2019 : Everything You Need To Know

-- Advertisement --
- Advertisement -

The 17th edition of the AFC Asian Cup, an international men’s football championship organised by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 5 January to 1 February 2019.

24 teams will be contesting for the elusive trophy for the first time in the championship. A 16-team format was used from 2004 to 2015. The host nation automatically qualifies for the event while the remaining 23 teams have to go through a qualifying competition.

The 24 teams have been divided into 6 groups

Group A :

  1. Bahrain
  2. India
  3. Thailand
  4. United Arab Emirates

 Group B :

  1. Australia
  2. Jordan
  3. Palestine
  4. Syria

Group C :

  1. China
  2. South Korea
  3. Kyrgyz Republic
  4. Philippines

Group D :

  1. Iran
  2. Iraq
  3. Vietnam
  4. Yemen

Group E :

  1. North Korea
  2. Qatar
  3. Lebanon
  4. Saudi Arabia

Group F :

  1. Japan
  2. Oman
  3. Turkmenistan
  4. Uzbekistan

History of AFC Asian Cup

The first ever AFC Asian Cup was held in Hong Kong in 1956 with seven teams taking part. South Korea won the first two editions in 1956 and 1960. Israel won the cup on their home turf in 1964.

-- Advertisement --

Then it was Iran who won the AFC Asian Cup thrice in a row (1968, 1972 and 1976). Kuwait won in 1980 beating South Korea, 3-0. Saudi Arabia has the championship thrice in 1984, 1988 and 1996.

Japan have won the elusive trophy 4 times – the most by any team. They have won in 1992, 2000, 2004 and 2011. Iraq defeated Saudi Arabia in the finals in 2007. Australia is the current champion having won the Asian cup in 2015.

AFC Rankings of the Participating Nations

AFC RankingCountry
4South Korea
5Saudi Arabia
8 United Arab Emirates
18North Korea

-- Advertisement --




India at the AFC Asian Cup

-- Advertisement --

The Indian team were the runners-up in 1964 which Israel won. India entered the group stage in 1984 and 2011.

In 2019, the Sunil Chhetri lead team will play their first match against Thailand on 6th January and then against UAE and Bahrain on 10th and 14th of January respectively. Prior to the event, India is also scheduled to play two friendlies against Oman and Syria.

-- Advertisement --

India’s 28 Member Initial Squad

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Arindam Bhattacharya, Vishal Kaith

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Sarthak Golui, Sandesh Jhingan, Anas Edathodika, Salam Ranjan Singh, Subhasish Bose, Narayan Das, Lalruatthara

Midfielders: Udanta Singh, Pronay Halder, Rowllin Borges, Anirudh Thapa, Vinit Rai, Halicharan Narzary, Ashique Kuruniyan, Germanpreet Singh, Lallianzuala Chhangte, Jackichand Singh

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sumeet Passi, Farukh Choudhary, Balwant Singh, Manvir Singh.

Indian Team’s New Kit

AFC Asia Cup Logo

AFC Asia Cup Slogan

The slogan of AFC Asia Cup 2019 is “Bringing Asia Together”.

AFC Asia Cup Trophy and Mascots

The new redesigned art-deco inspired trophy has been designed by Thomas Lyte.

The AFC Asia Cup 2019 has two mascots. Mansour is a typical Arab football kid with lightning speed, while Jarrah is an Arabian falcon.


For more interesting updates on Indian Sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

-- Advertisement --

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam
Gaurav Kadam is a young sportswriter and journalist who is a huge cricket enthusiast. He is a bibliophile and a movie and American TV series buff, who is completely addicted to Netflix. Gaurav is liberal in thoughts and agnostic in deeds.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

-- Advertisement --