HomeSportsBadminton2018 BWF Finals: Tough Draws for PV Sindhu, Verma in this Year's...
-- Advertisement --

2018 BWF Finals: Tough Draws for PV Sindhu, Verma in this Year’s Finale

- Advertisement -

PV Sindhu and Sameer Verma, the two Indian shuttlers participating at this year’s Badminton World Tour Finals in Guangzhou, China played a draw in their respective singles event today.

-- Advertisement --

In what could easily be labelled as the group of death, PV Sindhu will be rubbing shoulders against defending champion Akane Yamaguchi, Beiwen Zhang, and Tai Tzu Ying. On the other hand, Sameer Verma will have to overcome tough opponents in Kento Momota, Kantaphon Wangcharoen, and Tommy Sugiarto.

The draw for the latest edition took place on Monday at Guangzhou in China where the tournament is going to be held. The two players and pairs who top their respective groups will then qualify for the semi-finals. A separate knockout draw will be conducted for the same.

-- Advertisement --

This will be the most challenging draw of the year for Sindhu, the 2016 Olympic silver medalist, is she intends to make it to the last four. In fact, she has lost to all three players in Group A last year.

However, Sindhu will elicit some confidence from the fact that she has beaten Yamaguchi of Japan 4 times in spite of losing to her at the All England Championship. Nonetheless, she as been unsuccessful in her quest to beat Tai Tzu of Chinese Taipei, although she has gotten the better of Zhang of the USA in 2018.

-- Advertisement --

Sindhu, despite being featured in the tournament finals on a regular basis, has been unable to win a title in 2018. As a result, this will be the final shot of finishing at the top of the podium before the new season begins.

Verma became the unexpected representative in men’s singles from India after he won the Syed Modi International last month. However, in China, he finds himself in a lesser competitive side as compared to Sindhu. Howbeit, he still has the massive challenge of overcoming Momota. The Japanese shuttler has been in hot form this year, having won the World Championships and the Asia Championships.

The men’s singles Group A is brimming with top seeds as Chou Tien Chen, All England champion Shi Yuqi, Anthony Ginting, and Son Wan Ho all will compete for the top prize.

Men’s Doubles

Group A

Marcus Fernaldi Gideon vs Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo

-- Advertisement --

Han Chengkai vs Zhou Haodong

Li Junhui vs Liu Yuchen

Kim Astrup vs Anders Skaarup Rasmussen

Group B

Chen Hung Ling vs Wang Chi-Lin

Liao Min Chun vs Su Ching-Heng

Mohammad Ahsan vs Hendra Setiawan

Hiroyuki Endo vs Yuta Watanabe

Women’s Doubles

Group A

Misaki Matsutomo vs Ayaka Takahashi

Greysia Polii vs Apriani Rahayu

Chen Qingchen vs Jia Yifan

Du Yue vs Li Yinhui

Group B

Mayu Matsumoto vs Wakana Nagahara

Jongkolphan Kititharakul vs Rawinda Prajongjai

Lee So Hee vs Shin Seung Chan

Gabriela Stoeva vs Stefani Stoeva

Mixed Doubles

Group A

Zheng Siwei vs Huang Yaqiong

Dechapol Puavaranukroh vs Sapsiree Taerattanachai

Goh Soon Huat vs Shevon Jemie Lai

Marcus Ellis vs Lauren Smith

Group B

Yuta Watanabe vs Arisa Higashino

Chan Peng Soon vs Goh Liu Ying

Hafiz Faizal vs Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja

Wang Yilyu vs Huang Dongping

For more updates on Indian sports, stay tuned with KreedOn.

Follow us on: InstagramFacebookYouTubeWhatsApp and be part of KreedOn’s community

For more sports knowledge and latest stories on Indian sports and athletes

Subscribe Now Receive exciting Indian sports stories on your WhatsApp now.
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya
Monish Gadiya is the Head of Content at KreedOn. He is a thorough tech-enthusiast and believes that innovation is the answer to all the problems prevalent in the society. Monish graduated from University of Pune with a degree in Civil Engineering before pursuing a post-graduate diploma course in intellectual property rights. A die-hard football fan, he has represented his college at various football competitions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here